Moonbeams

Climbing Your Family Tree? How’s the view from up there?

Posted on: August 24, 2009

On Saturday, September 12th we are having a geneaology program at the library. You can click here for more details.

I have always admired people who are able to trace their family back to royalty or the 1400s. My own family history is a bit of  a mystery. Not on my mother’s side. There it is pretty easy to trace us back to a farming village in Poland and imagine what life was like for my ancestors. Raising goats and pigs and living a very rural life in the old country. But, when you get on my father’s side things are so easy. After about my great grandfather things get murky. Names changed and lots is lost in translation. My grandmother’s side really isn’t any easier. We aren’t even sure if we are English or Irish. This subject always makes me wonder about my long lost relatives. Who am I related to? What is my family’s past? I don’t know if I want to find out or not. I kind of like the mystery.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 102 other followers

Become a fan on Facebook

Library Tweets

  • Books & Brews Discussion Group - The Good Luck of Right Now by Matthew Quick 2 days ago
  • Sunday Afternoon Book Club - My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry by Fredrik Backman 2 days ago

Blog Archive

